CBS TV STREAMS Prime Sports Network

Ireland’s Josh van der Flier has been named men’s Player of the Year, while England’s Abby Dow has been named women’s Try of the Year.


On Sunday night, Ireland’s Josh van der Flier was named World Rugby Men’s 15s Player of the Year, while England’s Abby Dow was named World Rugby Women’s Try of the Year at the 2022 World Rugby Awards.

Van der Flier beat out a strong field of nominees for the prestigious men’s award, including teammate and captain Johnny Sexton.

Former champion Antoine Dupont was also nominated, as was South African Lukhanyo Am.

Van der Flier and Sexton were members of Ireland’s historic series victory over the All Blacks in New Zealand. This autumn, the team has won consecutive games against South Africa, Fiji, and Australia.

Van der Flier received the individual award in addition to the 2022 EPCR European Player of the Year award earlier this year.

“I’ve been extremely fortunate to have fantastic teammates and coaches who have really pushed me.” “My wife and family have also been tremendously supportive,” Van der Flier said.

“I’m fortunate to have some very experienced and high-level players in our team and in my position, both in Ireland and at Leinster.”

“I’ve always felt that I needed to be playing at my best the entire time or I wouldn’t be playing, and that has certainly motivated me.”

Men’s 15s World Rugby Dream Team of the Year

Freddie Steward is number fifteen (England), Will Jordan 14 (New Zealand), Lukhanyo Amen (South Africa), Damien de Allende (South Africa), Marika Koroibete, No. 11 (Australia), Johnny Sexton is ten (Ireland), Antoine Dupont 9 (France), 1. Genge, Ellis (England) 2. Marx, Malcolm (South Africa) Tadhg Furlong, third (Ireland) four. Tadhg Beirne (Ireland) Sam Whitelock is number five (New Zealand) Pablo Matera, no. 6 (Argentina) Josh van der Flier is number seven (Ireland) Gregory Alldritte (France).

Ireland’s head coach, Andy Farrell, was among the nominees for World Rugby Coach of the Year, but lost out to Wayne Smith, the Black Ferns’ World Cup-winning coach.

Smith captained the Black Ferns to their sixth Rugby World Cup victory, and their first on home soil, defeating England in the final. As a result, he became the first man to win both the male and female World Cups as a coach.

New Zealand co-captain Ruahei Demant has been named World Rugby Women’s 15s Player of the Year 2022, and Smith has described Demant as “one of the best leaders I’ve ever had in a team.”

Terry Kennedy of Ireland was named World Rugby Men’s Sevens Player of the Year.

Kennedy scored 50 tries during the 2022 World Rugby Sevens Series and capped off a remarkable sevens career by guiding Ireland to a bronze medal in the Rugby World Cup Sevens 2022.

Dow has been named Women’s World Rugby Try of the Year.

Dow of England won the World Rugby International Rugby Players Women’s Try of the Year for a stunning English effort against Canada that began behind their own try line.

“I just want to express my heartfelt gratitude to World Rugby and England for allowing me and the team to put on performances like that,” she said at the awards ceremony.

“It was end-to-end rugby; it went from front to back, and everyone just did their jobs to the best of their abilities.” It was amazing.

“The entire country of England has been behind us; we felt it before we went (to the World Cup) and we’ve felt it since we got back.” It’s been an honor to be a part of it.”

Dow was also named to the World Rugby Women’s 15s Dream Team of the Year, along with six other Red Roses.

Women’s 15s World Rugby Dream Team of the Year

Abby Dow 15 (England), Portia Woodman, 14 (New Zealand), Emily Scarratt (13th) (England), Theresa Fitzpatrick is number twelve (New Zealand), Ruby Tui is number eleven (New Zealand), Ruahei Demant is ten (New Zealand), Sansus, Laure (France), 1. Rogers, Hope (USA) Emily Tuttosi is number two (Canada) Sarah Berne (England) four. Abbie Ward (England) Fall of Madoussou (France) Alex Matthews is number six. Packer, Marlie Sophie de Goede is number eight.

World Rugby Women’s 15s Breakthrough Player of the Year is Ruby Tui.

Tui also received a new Rugby World Cup winners’ medal at the Monaco awards ceremony, after giving her old one to a young fan who had recovered from Leukemia the day before the World Cup final.

“It’s incredible to be here; it’s a whirlwind,” Tui said at the awards ceremony. “I’m extremely proud of New Zealand. It’s an honor to receive this award; at 27-and-a-half years old, I believe I’ve set the record for the oldest rookie in 15s, but hey, I’ll take it.”

Ange Capuozzo of Italy, who famously made an end-to-end break to end Italy’s 36-match losing streak in the Six Nations and scored twice against Australia this autumn, was named the men’s 15s breakthrough player.

Winners of the 2022 World Rugby Awards

World Rugby Women’s 15s Breakthrough Player of the Year: Ruby Tui (New Zealand).
Capuozzo, Ange (Italy) – Men’s 15s World Rugby Breakthrough Player of the Year
New Zealander Wayne Smith World Rugby Coach of the Year for Women’s 15s
Henning Tappe (South Africa) Dr. Farah Palmer received the World Rugby Referee Award (New Zealand) – Vernon Pugh Distinguished Service Award
Bryan Habana (South Africa) is the recipient of the International Rugby Players Special Merit Award.

Abby Dow (England vs. Canada) – Women’s International Rugby Players Try of the Year
International Rugby Players Men’s Try of the Year: Rodrigo Fernandez (Chile vs. USA).
World Rugby Women’s Sevens Player of the Year: Charlotte Caslick (Australia).
Terry Kennedy (Ireland) has been named the World Rugby Men’s Sevens Player of the Year.
World Rugby Men’s 15s Player of the Year: Josh van der Flier (Ireland).
Ruahei Demant (New Zealand) has been named the World Rugby Women’s 15s Player of the Year.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More